SOUTHERN AFRICAN COMPUTER LECTURERS' ASSOCIATION (SACLA) CONFERENCE HOSTED BY THE UNIVERSITY OF THE FREE STATE

MINUTES OF THE AGM ON MONDAY 2 JULY 2012

Attendance list

See Appendix A.

1. Welcome

Eduan Kotzé, chair of the organizing committee, welcomed all the delegates at the AGM.

2. Minutes of previous meeting

The minutes of the 2011 AGM were displayed on the screen.

The minutes stated that UKZN had to pay the seed money minus 10% to the next organising committee. However, that was not as it was decided at the meeting. UFS made a sound recording of the 2011 AGM and other delegates also remembered that UKZN stated that they had a deficit and they will find the money. The minutes were accepted after amendment.

3. New Matters

3.1 Chairperson report

The chairperson introduced all the committee members and thanked them for help organising the SACLA 2012 conference.

3.2 Financial report

A preliminary financial report was displayed on the screen, stating the expected expenditures and income. Thanks were given to all the sponsors. We tried to keep the costs down and anticipated a surplus of \pm R5000. Lisa Seymour thanked the committee for all the work, the nice venue, etcetera.

3.3 Organisers SACLA 2013

Eduan Kotzé received an email from Mr Sampson Asare from Botswana University stating that they are still willing to host SACLA 2013.

The sponsors indicated that they can't sponsor SACLA if it is situated outside the RSA borders and Botswana will have to find their own sponsors. It was decided that Rhodes will be requested to host SACLA 2013 if Botswana, for some reason, withdrawn.

NMMU will be requested to host SACLA 2014 (backup: CPUT) if it does not coincide with SAICSIT.

3.4 SACLA & SAICSIT

After discussion, it was decided to propose to the SAICSIT committee that SACLA and SAICSIT be hosted at the same venue – one after the other, not parallel. Each conference must retain its own identity. We do not want to combine the conferences because the purposes are different.

3.5 SACLA - quo Vadis?

All the received papers were reviewed by four authors of other papers. Four of the papers were rejected, 9 were accepted as long papers and 10 as short papers. Ken Halland was asked by four

people to tell the meeting that they are unhappy with the reviewing process. According to them it is contradictory to the purpose of SACLA - i.e. sharing teaching ideas in a relaxed environment. Counter arguments from delegates were that poor quality of papers will also lead to fewer delegates. The meeting was adjourned until Tuesday 13:25.

Tuesday:

Other viewpoints were:

Universities only fund a staff member if he presents a long paper that will be published in proceedings.

To receive ACM accreditation, we cannot accept more than 30% of the received papers.

If a paper was not peer-reviewed there is no guarantee of a subsidy.

Some people like parallel sessions. There were not enough papers to have parallel sessions this year.

To ensure continuation it was decided that a steering committee must be selected.

Lisa Seymour read the constitution that was published on the SACLA website (www.sacla.org.za). It stated that we must elect an Executive Committee ("The Society shall be managed by an Executive Committee consisting of three members, viz. a Chairman and two additional members. The members of the Executive Committee are elected by the members of the Society present at the Annual General Meeting and remain in office until the end of the next Annual General Meeting.")

The meeting decided that the committee will consist of the chair of the current year's organising committee's chair (ex officio), the next chair, and additional members that will serve for two years. Lisa Seymour asked that we must consider to have at least one person from an IS department on the committee as well.

The following interim committee was elected: Eduan Kotzé (2012 organizing chair), Botswana's 2013 organizing chair, Ken Halland, Karen Bradshaw and Lisa Seymour. The interim committee must study the constitution and recommend changes.

The meeting adjourned at 10:50.

APPENDIX A

NAME	SURNAME	INSTITUTION	EMAIL
Robert	Alfonsi	UFS	alfonsirm@qwa.ufs.ac.za
Tanya	Beelders	UFS	beelderstr@ufs.ac.za
Aaron	Bere	CUT	abere@cut.ac.za
Sonia	Berman	UCT	SONIA@CS.UCT.AC.ZA
Pieter	Blignaut	UFS	pieterb@ufs.ac.za
Karen	Bradshaw	RHODES	k.bradshaw@ru.ac.za
Sheryl	Buckley	UNISA	bucklsb@unisa.ac.za
Andries	Burger	UFS	burgeraj@ufs.ac.za
Brian	Campbell	UFS	campbellrb@ufs.ac.za
Samuel	Chikasha	WITS	samuelchikasha@yahoo.co.uk
Lizette	De Wet	UFS	Lizette@ufs.ac.za
Engela	Dednam	UFS	dednameh@ufs.ac.za
Rouxan	Fouché	UFS	foucherc@ufs.ac.za
Leila	Goosen	UNISA	goosel@unisa.ac.za
Ken	Halland	UNISA	hallakj@unisa.ac.za
Derek	Kolb	IIE	dkolb@iie.ac.za
Eduan	Kotze	UFS	kotzeje@ufs.ac.za
Jan	Kroeze	UNISA	kroezjh@unisa.ac.za
Teboho	Lesesa	UFS	lesesat@qwa.ufs.ac.za
Ben	Mase	UFS	masemb@qwa.ufs.ac.za
Liezel	Nel	UFS	liezel@ufs.ac.za
Wynand	Nel	UFS	nelw@ufs.ac.za
Nelishia	Pillay	UKZN	pillayn32@ukzn.ac.za
Fani	Radebe	UFS	radebefm@qwa.ufs.ac.za
Patient	Rambe	UFS	pjoerambe@gmail.com
Benedict	Sebastian	UFS	sebastianb@qwa.ufs.ac.za
Lisa	Seymour	UCT	lisa.seymour@uct.ac.za
Linda	Spark	WITS	Linda.Spark@wits.ac.za
Anitta	Thomas	UNISA	thomaa@unisa.ac.za
Anelize	Van Biljon	UFS	anelize@ufs.ac.za
Judy	Van Biljon	UNISA	vbiljja@unisa.ac.za
Ruth	Wario	UFS	wariord@qwa.ufs.ac.za